Home

Personal

Education

Awards & Honors

Publications

Research

Teaching

Resume

Photo Gallery



Vinod K. Singh

Institute Chair Professor Department of Chemistry IIT Kanpur 208016 E-mail: vinodks@iitk.ac.in Ph: +91 512 259 7291

Google Scholar Link

Secretary
Ms. Ankita Dubey
E-mail: ankitadu@iitk.ac.in
Ph: +91 512 259 7577

Ph: +91 512 679 7577

Director's Chair Professor IISER Bhopal

President
National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI)

Chairman, Governing Council IACS Kolkata

Chairman, Reserach Council

CSIR-AMPRI Bhopal

Chairperson

Recruitment & Assessment Board (RAB), CSIR

Professor Vinod Singh is an Institute Chair Professor at IIT Kanpur. He also holds the position of Director's Chair Professor at IISER Bhopal. He is the Chairperson of the Governing Council of IACS Kolkata, Chairperson of the Research Council of CSIR-AMPRI Bhopal, and Chairperson of the Recruitment and Assessment Board (RAB) of the CSIR. He is also a member of the CSIR Society, chaired by the PM, and given the responsibility of mentoring the CSIR-AMPRI & CSIR-IIIM Jammu. He is the President of the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI).

Born on 9th September 1959 in Anantapur, a village in Azamgarh (UP), Professor Singh received his early education from his native place. He did an MSc (1980) in Chemistry from BHU and a PhD (1986) from M.S. University Baroda (Malti-Chem Research Center, Nandesari; Supervisor: Dr Sukh Dev). After spending 2 years in Canada (1985-1987) at the University of Calgary and the University of British Columbia, he moved to the USA to do other postdoctoral work (1987-1990) at Harvard University with Professor E. J. Corey, a Nobel Laureate. After a brief stint as a Senior Scientist at Neurogen Corporation, CT, USA, Vinod Singh joined IIT Kanpur in 1990 as an Assistant Professor and rose to the rank of Professor. After superannuation, he was given an Emeritus position, with the honour of Institute Chair.

Professor Singh's research falls in the Synthetic Organic Chemistry area, specifically asymmetric synthesis. He has been recognized with several awards and honours such as <u>Swarnajayanti Fellowship</u> (1998), <u>Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize</u> (2004) and <u>Padma Shri</u> (2014), among others. In addition, he has been elected as a Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (FNA), Indian Academy of Sciences (FASc), National Academy of Sciences (FNASc), and The World Academy of Sciences (FTWAS).

Professor Singh is a Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of *Asian J. Org. Chem., Tetrahedron Lett., and Org. Chem. Frontiers*. He was an Editor of an Elsevier journal, Tetrahedron Lett. (2014-2023), Associate Editor of Synthetic Communications (2010-2014), & a Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of *Org. Lett. and J. Org. Chem* (2018-2024).

Professor Singh has made significant contributions to the management of higher educational institutes and higher education policy for the government. As a Founding Director of IISER Bhopal for over 10 years (2008-2018), he set up the whole campus from scratch. He has served as the Mentor Director of IISER Berhampur, Director of SPA Bhopal (additional charge) and the Chairman of BoG, NITTTR Bhopal. He also held the additional charge of Directorship of MANIT Bhopal. In 2020, he was awarded a TWAS-CASAREP award for building scientific institutions.

Professor Singh was a Member of the Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (SAC to PM; 2009-2014). He was also the President of the Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) during 2020-2023.